UVA’s Jocelyn Willoughby Honorable Mention for WBCA All-America Team


CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia women’s basketball senior guard Jocelyn Willoughby (East Orange, N.J.) has been named an honorable mention for the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team, as announced Thursday (April 2) by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

The selection committee named a 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team from the 52 regional finalists. Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu has been awarded the 2020 Wade Trophy and headlines the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team. The prestigious Wade Trophy, regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball,” is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the WBCA.

Willoughby finished the season as the ACC scoring leader at 19.2 points per game, making her just the second player in program history to pace the conference in scoring.

She also ranked 10th in the ACC in rebounding at 7.5 per game and was named All-ACC First Team in votes by the Blue Ribbon Panel and the league’s head coaches.

Willoughby, a third-team CoSIDA Academic All-American, was the first player in program history to be the recipient of the 2019-20 Kay Yow Award as the Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Willoughby was also named to the 2019-20 All-ACC Academic Team, making her Virginia’s first four-time recipient of that honor.

This is Willoughby’s first honorable mention for All-America honors and is the first time a Cavalier has been an honorable mention for any of the All-America teams since Monica Wright was a consensus first team All-American in 2010.

2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-Americans

Chennedy CarterTexas A&M University
Lauren CoxBaylor University
Kathleen DoyleUniversity of Iowa
Dana EvansUniversity of Louisville
Tyasha HarrisUniversity of South Carolina
Ruthy HebardUniversity of Oregon
Sabrina IonescuUniversity of Oregon
Aari McDonaldUniversity of Arizona
Satou SaballyUniversity of Oregon
Megan WalkerUniversity of Connecticut

2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America honorable mention

Bella AlariePrinceton University
Grace BergerIndiana University
Aliyah BostonUniversity of South Carolina
Brittany BrewerTexas Tech University
Jessika CarterMississippi State University
Bre CavanaughFordham University
Kaila CharlesUniversity of Maryland
Te’a CooperBaylor University
Elissa CunaneNorth Carolina State University
Crystal DangerfieldUniversity of Connecticut
Rennia DavisUniversity of Tennessee
Nicki EkhomuFlorida State University
Kiah GillespieFlorida State University
Haley GoreckiDuke University
Vivian GrayOklahoma State University
Arella GuirantesRutgers University
Naz HillmonUniversity of Michigan
Becca HittnerDrake University
Rhyne HowardUniversity of Kentucky
Rickea JacksonMississippi State University
Keri Jewett-GilesFlorida Gulf Coast University
Ashley JoensIowa State University
Stella JohnsonRider University
Jazmine JonesUniversity of Louisville
Dorka JuhaszOhio State University
Antoinette MillerUniversity of Cincinnati
Beatrice MompremierUniversity of Miami (FL)
Olivia Nelson-OdodaUniversity of Connecticut
Erica OgwumikeRice University
Michaela OnyenwereUniversity of California – Los Angeles
Ali PatbergIndiana University
Chelsey PerryUniversity of Tennessee at Martin
Mikayla PivecOregon State University
Lindsey PulliamNorthwestern University
Destiny SlocumOregon State University
NaLyssa SmithBaylor University
Chante StonewallDePaul University
Ilmar’I ThomasUniversity of Cincinnati
Alexis TolefreeUniversity of Arkansas
Kiana WilliamsStanford University 
Christyn WilliamsUniversity of Connecticut 
Jocelyn WilloughbyUniversity of Virginia

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

News tips

Do you have a news tip or breaking news to share with WFXR?  Submit your tip here.

NBA Stats

Latest News

More News

Latest Scores