ROANOKE, Va. (WFXR) — The Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs take home the SPHL Championship title.

For the second straight night, the Rail Yard Dawgs were working overtime, and on both nights they left the ice with a win. Roanoke takes their first-ever SPHL title with a 2-1 overtime win over the Birmingham Bulls to claim the President’s Cup three games to one.

It is the Roanoke Valley’s first professional hockey title since the Virginia Lancers won the Atlantic Coast Hockey League title in 1987!

The game was scoreless in the first period. Roanoke would break the scoreless tie with a Josh Nenadal goal in the second period. The Dawgs would take that lead all the way deep into the third period. But with 10 seconds left in regulation, the Bulls would even the game up at one with a Carson Rose goal.

For the second straight night, the game would go to overtime. With 2:40 into the overtime, Roanoke captain Mac Jansen would score to give the Dawgs the President’s Cup. Roanoke goaltender Austyn Roudebush was named the Most Valuable Player of the President’s Cup Final.