PEORIA, Ill. (WFXR) — The Rail Yard Dawgs are headed back to the President’s Cup championship series.

Roanoke defeated Peoria, 5-3, on the road in a series-deciding game 3, ousting the top seed in this year’s playoffs.

The Dawgs got off to a quick start, scoring three unanswered goals in the opening period. Josh Nenadal opened the scoring 15 seconds into the contest. Gehrett Sargis then made back-to-back goals to give Roanoke a 3-0 lead heading into the first intermission.

Peoria got on the board in the second before Nick Devito answered back, scoring his fourth goal in two games, giving the Dawgs a 4-1 lead after two periods.

The Rivermen scored twice in the third period, getting within a goal of the Dawgs with less than five minutes to go before DeVito scored an empty net goal in the final minute to secure the victory.

Goalie Austyn Roudebush made 37 saves in the victory.

The Dawgs will face Birmingham in the best-of-five championship series, which begins later this week. Roanoke will host games three and, if necessary, four, on Monday, May 1 and Tuesday, May 2, respectively.