RICHMOND, Va. (WFXR) – Starting in January, it will be illegal in Virginia to use a cell phone while driving, unless it is a hands-free device.
Currently, using a non-hands-free device while driving is considered to be a secondary offense, meaning that police cannot pull you over if they catch you talking or texting with a phone in your hand.
Starting next month, though, this becomes a primary offense with penalties starting at $125 for the first offense.
The Virginia Tech Transportation Institute says 80-percent of all crashes in Virginia are due to distracted drivers who are talking, texting, reading or reaching for something.
- UPDATE: Man dies after Sunday night shooting in Lynchburg
- Reigning champion Chiefs dump Bills 38-24 in AFC title game
- 11-year-old remembers his mother, Samantha Robinson, who was fatally shot in Lynchburg
- Super Host: Bucs become 1st to play Super Bowl at home
- Radford residents react to Sunday morning shootings