Governor Northam announces renewal of 15 enterprise zones

Virginia News

RICHMOND, Va. (WFXR) – Governor Ralph Northam has announced the renewal of 15 Virginia Enterprise Zone designations, catering to businesses who locate in these regions being eligible to receive state and local benefits.

The individual zones receiving renewals were initially designated in 2000, 2005 and 2010.

New legislation passed by the General Assembly in 2019 allows zones designated after 2005 to apply for a third five-year period whereas zones designated after 2005 can request one five-year renewal.

Since 2015, the program has generated more than $1.5 billion in investment and the creation of 50,000 jobs in the designated zones.

Recommendations for zone renewals are based on the continued need for creating jobs and providing capital investment incentives.

2000 Designations

  • Zone 48: Charlotte County / Lunenburg County / Prince Edward County
  • Zone 49: Dickenson County / Town of Clintwood / Town of Haysi
  • Zone 50: Lancaster County / Northumberland County / Richmond County / Westmoreland County / Town of Kilmarnock / Town of Warsaw
  • Zone 51: Smyth County / Washington County / Town of Chilhowie / Town of Glade Spring

2005 Designations

  • Zone 8: City of Hampton Urban Zone
  • Zone 9: City of Hopewell
  • Zone 10: City of Petersburg
  • Zone 11: Wythe County
  • Zone 12: Town of Bedford

2010 Designations

  • Zone 4: City of Portsmouth South Zone
  • Zone 7: City of Norfolk
  • Zone 16: Prince George County
  • Zone 17: City of Staunton
  • Zone 18: City of Franklin / Isle of White County / Southampton County
  • Zone 24: Pittsylvania County


Get breaking news, weather, and sports delivered to your smartphone with the WFXR News app available on Apple and Android.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

News tips

Do you have a news tip or breaking news to share with WFXR?  Submit your tip here.

Latest News

More News

News Tip Form