RICHMOND, Va. (WFXR) — Gov. Ralph Northam has announced new measures to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 in Virginia. The new restrictions and safety measures include a limit of 25 individuals for in-person gatherings, an expanded mask mandate, an on-site alcohol curfew, and increased enforcement
“COVID-19 is surging across the country, and while cases are not rising in Virginia as rapidly as in some other states, I do not intend to wait until they are. We are acting now to prevent this health crisis from getting worse. Everyone is tired of this pandemic and restrictions on our lives. I’m tired, and I know you are tired too. But as we saw earlier this year, these mitigation measures work. I am confident that we can come together as one Commonwealth to get this virus under control and save lives.”Gov. Ralph Northam
The following measures will take effect at midnight on Sunday, Nov. 15:
- Reduction in public and private gatherings: All public and private in-person gatherings must be limited to 25 individuals, down from the current cap of 250 people. This includes outdoor and indoor settings. The limit applies only to public and private social gatherings. It does not apply to employment or instructional educational settings.
- Expansion of mask mandate: All Virginians age five and over are required to wear face coverings in indoor public spaces. This expands the current mask mandate, which has been in place in Virginia since May 29 and requires all individuals aged 10 and over to wear face coverings in indoor public settings.
- Strengthened enforcement within essential retail businesses: All essential retail businesses, including grocery stores and pharmacies, must adhere to statewide guidelines for physical distancing, wearing face coverings, and enhanced cleaning. While certain essential retail businesses have been required to adhere to these regulations as a best practice, violations will now be enforceable through the Virginia Department of Health as a Class One misdemeanor.
- On-site alcohol curfew: The on-site sale, consumption, and possession of alcohol is prohibited after 10 p.m. in any restaurant, dining establishment, food court, brewery, microbrewery, distillery, winery, or tasting room. All restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, breweries, microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and tasting rooms must close by midnight. Virginia law does not distinguish between restaurants and bars, however, under current restrictions, individuals that choose to consume alcohol prior to 10:00 p.m. must be served as in a restaurant and remain seated at tables six feet apart.
According to a release from Northam’s office, Virginia is averaging 1,500 newly-reported COVID-19 cases per day, up from a statewide peak of approximately 1,200 in May.
While southwest Virginia has experienced a spike in the number of diagnosed COVID-19 cases, all five of the Commonwealth’s health regions are currently reporting a positivity rate of more than five percent.
Although hospital capacity remains stable, hospitalizations have increased statewide by more than 35 percent in the last four weeks.
- Clutch hits in the sixth lift Appomattox softball to state championship game
- “I just really enjoy life even more than I used to”; Bedford County woman’s ‘miraculous’ recovery after nearly dying from COVID
- Va. expecting budget surplus after bracing for big losses; Tourism groups asking for direct aid
- Study: Yeager brings more than $225M to WV economy
- WV roadways and bridges rank last in nation