Martinsville Speedway To Host NASCAR Cup Series Night Race in 2020

News
Friday Night Blitz Team Pages:

MARTINSVILLE, Va. (March 26, 2019) – For the first time in its more than 70-year history, Martinsville Speedway will host a NASCAR Cup Series race under the lights. The 2020 spring race is scheduled to run at night on Saturday, May 9.

“This is a very exciting day for Martinsville Speedway,” Martinsville Speedway President Clay Campbell said.  “It’s a question we’ve gotten from fans literally every day since we installed the lights and we are now able to say, ‘May 9, 2020.’ So, this is a very exciting day for everyone involved.”

In addition, the Fall Cup race, which will be held on November 1, will also see a significant change, as the weekend will become the penultimate race in the NASCAR Playoffs, determining who gets the final spots in the Championship Race.

“We are going to move to one of the most important races on the schedule, setting up the Cup Series finale,” Campbell said. “Recent history has shown us that drivers will do whatever it takes to secure a spot in the Championship Race, and now the urgency and intensity will go to another level, as it’s the last shot for teams to have a chance at the championship.”

The Speedway installed a state-of-the-art LED Lighting system in 2017, becoming the first major motorsports facility in the United States to do so. Martinsville has run the ValleyStar Credit Union 300, NASCAR’s biggest, richest and most prestigious Late Model Stock Car race, under the lights since 2017.

“Fans showed us that they support night racing here during the last two ValleyStar Credit Union 300 weekends,” Campbell said. “We hope they will enjoy the Cup Series under the lights just as much and will come see us next May.”

Tickets for the 2020 season at Martinsville Speedway can be guaranteed by calling 877.RACE.TIX.

Racing returns to Martinsville this fall with two race weekends.

The ValleyStar Credit Union 300 NASCAR Late Model Stock Car race will be run on Saturday, October 5.

The NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series and Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series will be in action October 25-27 for the First Data 500 race weekend.

For more information about Martinsville Speedway, visit www.martinsvillespeedway.com.

The full NASCAR Cup Series schedule for 2020:

Date    Track
Sunday, Feb. 9    The Clash
Thursday, Feb. 13    Duels at Daytona
Sunday, Feb. 16    Daytona 500
Sunday, Feb. 23    Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 1    Auto Club Speedway
Sunday, March 8    ISM Raceway
Sunday, March 15    Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 22    Homestead-Miami Speedway
Sunday, March 29    Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 5    Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 12    OFF
Sunday, April 19    Richmond Raceway
Sunday, April 26    Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, May 3    Dover International Speedway
Saturday, May 9    Martinsville Speedway
Saturday, May 16    All-Star Race at Charlotte
Sunday, May 24    Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, May 31    Kansas Speedway
Sunday, June 7    Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, June 14    Sonoma Raceway
Sunday, June 21    Chicagoland Speedway
Saturday, June 27    Pocono Raceway
Sunday, June 28    Pocono Raceway
Sunday, July 5    Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Saturday, July 11    Kentucky Speedway
Sunday, July 19    New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sunday, July 26    OFF
Sunday, Aug. 2    OFF
Sunday, Aug. 9    Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, Aug. 16    Watkins Glen International
Sunday, Aug. 23    Dover International Speedway
Saturday, Aug. 29    Daytona International Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 6    Darlington Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 12    Richmond Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 19    Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 27    Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 4    Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, Oct. 11    Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 18    Kansas Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 25    Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 1    Martinsville Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 8    ISM Raceway
 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

News tips

Do you have a news tip or breaking news to share with WFXR?  Submit your tip here.

Latest News

More News

News Tip Form

Latest Scores