Roanoke County School Board announces applicants for soon-to-be vacated Catawba District seat

Roanoke Valley News

ROANOKE COUNTY, Va. (WFXR) – Earlier this month, the Roanoke County School Board began accepting applications for the Catawba District seat that is soon to be vacated by Donald Butzer.

Donald Butzer will resign his seat on the Roanoke County School Board effective on June 10, 2021.

Butzer announced his resignation in April. His seat officially becomes vacant on June 10.

The deadline for those interested in filling Butzer’s seat was 5 p.m. on Monday, May 24.

A total of five applicants filled out the necessary paperwork to become eligible for the seat. Those applicants were from the following:

  • Brent Hudson
  • Deneen L. Evans
  • Patricia B. Wood
  • Harriet L. Dhalgren
  • Tyrel A. Tullis

The above candidates will be interviewed during a public work session on June 1 starting at 3:30 p.m.

The person who is appointed to the seat must meet the qualifications for office before sitting on the board, who reserves the right to modify the procedure as necessary.

Those interested in running for election for the Catawba District seat in November must file necessary paperwork by Aug. 13 with Roanoke County election officials.

The final candidate will be announced on June 10.

Get breaking news, weather, and sports delivered to your smartphone with the WFXR News app available on Apple and Android.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

News tips

Do you have a news tip or breaking news to share with WFXR?  Submit your tip here.

Latest News

More News

News Tip Form