Southwest, central Virginia school officials approve upcoming calendar changes

Education

(Photo courtesy: MGN)

(WFXR) — Multiple Virginia school districts are making changes to their school calendars as the end of the fall semester approaches.

According to the Floyd County Public Schools Facebook page, the school board has approved a calendar update.

The end of the semester will be Thursday, Dec. 16, which will also be a full day for students. There will be a teacher workday on Friday, Dec. 17.

School officials approved modifications for the Halifax County Public Schools during a board meeting.

On a Facebook post, the district stated that all schools and offices will be closed on Wednesday, Dec. 22. All schools and offices will be open on Monday, Dec. 20, and Tuesday, Dec. 21.

Amherst County Public Schools also released changes to its school calendar for the next semester.

According to a Facebook post, the Amherst County School Board approved to change three days from instruction days to teacher workdays. Students will not have to attend school on Monday, Jan. 3, 2022; Friday, Feb. 4, 2022; and Friday, May 13, 2022.

Another central Virginia school district, Campbell County Public Schools, shared several adjustments to the second half of the 2021-2022 school year.

School officials say that Tuesday, Jan. 18, 2022; Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2022; and Monday, March 21, 2022 will now be teacher workdays in Campbell County, which means schools will be closed for students.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More News

News Tip Form