Additional evacuations ordered for parts of the OBX

New Law Reduces Vehicle Registration Fees for Virginians

(Image: Courtesy PBS/YouTube)

CURRITUCK COUNTY, N.C. (WAVY) — Mandatory evacuation orders are now in effect for the Outer Banks communities of Corolla and Carova.

Currituck County officials issued a news release that said a state of emergency effective at 12 p.m. on Tuesday.

The emergency declaration includes orders for both communities to be begin evacuating Wednesday at 8 a.m.

Currituck County Schools later stated in a Facebook post that students in all schools will be released early Wednesday. Students who live in Corolla will be excused from school Wednesday.

After-school activities will be canceled beginning Wednesday. Schools in the county will be closed Thursday and Friday.

The evacuation orders were announced as a hurricane watch was issued for parts of the Outer Banks, including Duck and the Pamlico and Albemarle sounds.

The orders come after officials in Dare and Hyde counties called for the evacuation of residents and visitors. In response to the evacuations, northbound tolls on the Route 168 Chesapeake Expressway are being suspended at 12 p.m. Tuesday.

Vacationers planning to visit Currituck County this weekend are being asked to check with their property manager or rental company regarding access. Visitors will not be allowed on the Outer Banks during the evacuation.

Get the latest tracking and forecast information for Dorian through the WFXR News AppWFXR Pinpoint Weather Online and on WFXR News First at Ten and Good Day Virginia.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

News tips

Do you have a news tip or breaking news to share with WFXR?  Submit your tip here.

Latest News

More News

News Tip Form